Skilled Visas

There are a number of visas available to individuals who are qualified to work in an eligible skilled occupation in Australia.

Available skilled visas

Skilled visas are predominantly based on a points-tested system. The first step is to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) in order to receive an invitation from the Department of Home Affairs to apply for the visa.

These visas rely on a skilled occupation list, which is subject to change – please refer to the Skilled Occupation List on the Department of Home Affairs’ website for the current list.

Subject to your intended location of settlement, these visas include:  

Permanent visas
  • Subclass 189 Skilled Independent visa
  • Subclass 190 Skilled Nominated visa
Provisional visas
  • Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa – this visa provides a pathway to permanent residence after 3 years, subject to meeting the relevant criteria